A quick Google search on “How to get a Cheap and Fast Divorce in Louisiana” likely brought up multiple websites with questionable advice. They may not have even had a Louisiana attorney attached that can help you if things go wrong. You may also be wondering if you can get a divorce without going to court. We’re happy you found us. If you’re wondering how to get a fast divorce that doesn’t cost a fortune, we can help.
Cheap and Fast Divorce in Louisiana
Despite what you’ve heard, it’s possible to get a cheap and fast divorce in Louisiana. Not all divorces have to cost a fortune depending on the facts of the case and whether or not you can work with your spouse. There are many factors that determine the price for a divorce in Louisiana such as child custody, community property and whether or not your spouse is going to fight you in court.
Many couples are able to agree to have a civil divorce and settle all issues outside of court. Uncontested divorces are easier on all parties and can save money on lawyer’s fees.
Save Money on Your Divorce
We understand the importance of getting out of a bad situation without breaking the bank. That’s why we offer low cost divorce solutions to clients all over Louisiana.
Each situation is different and the cost and timeframe of obtaining a divorce is dependent upon a few factors:
- Is the divorce uncontested?
- Have you fulfilled Louisiana’s separation requirement?
- Will your spouse accept service?
- Where your divorce will be filed.
What is an Uncontested Divorce?
An uncontested divorce in Louisiana is one in which both parties agree to the terms of the divorce such as child custody, community property and other issues that may arise. Uncontested divorces also cover divorces where there is nothing to fight over. Louisiana uncontested divorces are faster and save money.
Uncontested divorces are divorces where both spouses typically agree on issues such as: community property divisions, child custody or support, spousal support or other ancillary matters that would normally go before a judge. That doesn’t mean that issues regarding child custody won’t arise later, but for now the parties agree. You are able to work out custody agreements without court intervention.
Louisiana Separation Requirement for Divorces
Louisiana divorce law has a strict guideline for the amount of time you must be living separate and apart before a Judgment of Divorce may be granted.
- 180 days if no minor children
- 365 days if minor children
You either have to fulfill this separation requirement before filing your petition or after filing. This is the difference between a 102 and a 103 divorce. If you file after you have been separated for the appropriate amount of time, we can get your Judgment of Divorce finalized relatively soon and you won’t have to wait. If you file first, then separate – you will have to wait the time period before the Judge assigned to your case will sign the Judgment.
Either way, we can help.
Spouse Must Accept Service to Save Money
In order to proceed with a divorce action, your spouse must either be served or agree to waive service. Agreeing to service will allow you to get a quick divorce versus having to wait until the authorities can have him/her served.
If they agree, our office can execute a “Waiver of Service” for them to sign in front of a Notary Public. This document states that they have received a certified copy of the Petition for Divorce. This will allow you to move forward with your divorce without having to have them served through the Sheriff’s Office or a private process server.
Most spouses agree to accept service because they do not wish to be served at work or in front of people. It can be an embarrassing situation that most want to avoid. Plus, it saves time and allows you to be divorced quicker.
Low-Cost Louisiana Divorce
If your situation falls into this category, you may qualify for a cheap and fast divorce versus having to spend thousands of dollars to fight in court and waiting. We offer lower prices if there will not be a court battle.
If you need help with a divorce, feel free to call or email us and tell us your situation.
Clients are responsible for filing fees for their divorce. These fees go directly to the Clerk of Court’s office and aren’t a part of our attorney fees. You can expect to pay anywhere from $250 to $400 for filing fees for a divorce depending on the parish.
If you cannot afford the filing fees up front, just let my office know and we can provide you with a pauper form that you can fill out for the judge to see if they will allow you to proceed.
We Handle Divorces in Every Parish
We service clients in every parish and in some cases you do not have to come to the office, unless you want to. We can communicate by phone and email to gather the appropriate information needed to file your divorce.
We Help Clients Save Money On Their Divorce
Our firm knows how to handle your divorce without the things you don’t need. We charge flat-rate divorce fees versus charging hourly. This payment structure forces us to be highly efficient as we will not bill you for every single hour we work on your divorce.
Most law firms charge an hourly rate and charge you for each phone call, email or meeting. Our firm charges a flat-rate fee for divorces so that you know exactly how much the representation will cost. There are no surprises or hidden fees.
Not all divorces require a fight. Many spouses are able to agree and move on without a lengthy court battle. Attorney Jerome Andries can help you get your divorce as quickly and painless as possible without breaking the bank. We offer a cheap and fast solution to for your divorce needs.
Divorce isn't easy
It shouldn't cost an arm and a leg either.
-R. Jerome Andries, Louisiana Divorce Attorney
Message Me: Jerome@AndriesLawFirm.com
Call Me: (318) 269-5857